Vegan Pumpkin Pie

This year we spent Thanksgiving with two of our friends who are vegan. Last year I made a vegan pumpkin pie that called for tofu which did not impress me much. This year, I decided to try something new, and it was delicious. So delicious, in fact, that I only ate the vegan pie this year.

To start make a crust. I always make the Crisco Crust with butter flavored Crisco. The recipe can be found here. I like it better than any of the Earth Balance crusts that I’ve tried.

For the filling, use two cups of fresh roasted pumpkin puree. Canned pumpkin can be used, but after having used fresh pumpkin, I’m all about roasting pumpkins for puree.

I did not take any pictures of this pie, which is too bad, because it was beautiful. Guess you will just have to try to make it and see for yourself.

Ingredients

1 deep-dish, uncooked vegan pie crust

2 cups fresh pumpkin puree or 1 (15 oz) canned pumpkin

1 cup of warm, unsweetened coconut milk

3/4 cup granulated sugar

3 Tbs cornstartch

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Directions

1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Combine the pumpkin, milk, sugar, cornstarch, and spices together with an electric mixer.

3. Pour into the uncooked pie crust and bake for 60 minutes.

4. Allow pie to cool completely to room temperature before covering with plastic wrap. Place in the refrigerator over night.

About Elizabeth

I am a happily married, mother of two, who left the exciting world of organic synthesis to be home with my children. Cooking and knitting are my two favorite things, and I've recently started running.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Desserts, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

