Greek-Style Chicken

Each time I make this recipe I feel as if I won the lottery. The effort required to make this dish is very little for the amount of delicious goodness that is the end result. Because of this, it has become my go-to recipe when I do not know what is for dinner. Oh, and did I mention that it is good for you, too?

To start, spray a skillet with non-stick cooking spray, I use the Target brand olive oil kind, and start cooking some boneless, skinless chicken breast. I sprinkled these with salt, pepper, and Greek seasoning. This was the first time I used Greek seasoning, and now I put it on everything.

photo

photo

While the chicken cooks, slice some cherry tomatoes and pitted kalamata olives in half.

photo

Flip the chicken when it is nice and brown on the bottom, about five minutes.

photo

While the second side of the chicken cooks mix olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning in a bowl.

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

Yes this really is how I measure most of my seasonings when I am cooking. If time is an issue, any store-bought balsamic vinaigrette would work wonderfully. Toss the tomatoes and olives in the dressing.

photo

Once the chicken is completely cooked, put it on a plate, top it with the tomato-olive mix (drain any excess dressing), and sprinkle with some feta cheese.

photo

Serve with some broccoli, couscous, or any side of your choice. Enjoy!

Greek-Style Chicken 

Prep Time: 5 minutes Cook Time: 10-15 minutes Servings: 4-5

Ingredients

20 oz. package of boneless skinless chicken breast

Greek seasoning

non-stick cooking spray

1 cup cherry tomatoes

15 pitted kalamata olives

4 TBS olive oil

2 TBS balsamic vinegar

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1 TBS Italian seasoning

1/4 cup feta cheese

Preparation

1. Heat a skillet with some non-stick cooking spray. Sprinkle chicken with salt, pepper, and Greek seasoning. Start to brown chicken in skillet.

2. While the chicken cooks, slice the tomatoes and olives in half.

3. Flip the chicken.

4. Mix olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning in a separate bowl. Toss the tomatoes and olives in the dressing.

5. When chicken is finished cooking (about 5 minutes per side) put it on a plate, and top with 1/4 of the tomato-olive mix. Sprinkle with feta cheese, and enjoy.

About Elizabeth

I am a happily married, mother of two, who left the exciting world of organic synthesis to be home with my children. Cooking and knitting are my two favorite things, and I've recently started running.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

