Flamestrike Soup

This is probably my husband’s favorite thing I cook.  It is an adaptation from a recipe in one of his old Dragon Lance books.

Flamestrike Soup

We make no pretense about our dorkiness.

We have been making it for years, changing things here and there, until this last time, and it was decided to be perfect.  It is one of those great dishes to make at the end of a day when you realize you have had no vegetables, and want to make up for it with one meal.  To its disadvantage, it has many ingredients,

Flamestrike Soup

and takes a bit of time to put together, but it is definitely worth the effort.  Continue reading, and I’ll share some shortcuts I’ve discovered along the way.

To start, chop an onion and throw it into the bottom of a large pot.  Grab some spicy Italian sausage and put it into the pot with the onion.  I use turkey sausages and cut them out of the casing so it cooks up like ground beef.

Flamestrike Soup
Flamestrike Soup
Flamestrike Soup
Flamestrike Soup

While the meat is browning, chop up a couple of cups of celery,

Flamestrike Soup

a few carrots,

Flamestrike Soup

and some mushrooms. I buy the pre-washed and sliced mushrooms as a shortcut. You can do the same for the carrots, and I frequently do. Today, I just had whole carrots in the fridge already.

Flamestrike SoupThrow all those veggies into the pot with the meat and onions.

Flamestrike SoupAt this point the kitchen is smelling good, and the pot is looking delicious.

Chop up half of a green pepper and throw it in, too.

Flamestrike SoupNow you need 5 cups of cabbage. For the longest time I chopped up a head of cabbage. It took a long time, made a mess, and was the primary reason I didn’t make this dish as much as my husband would like. Then one day, while shopping for ingredients I had an epiphany:  coleslaw mix is pre-shredded cabbage. Score one for Elizabeth.

Dump the whole bag into the pot. It is starting to get crowded in there. Every time I make this I worry that there won’t be enough room. There always is. Cabbage really cooks down, like spinach.

Flamestrike SoupAdd tomato juice, and chicken broth to the pot.

Flamestrike Soup
Flamestrike Soup

Take a deep breath. I realize it feels as if you have emptied the entire refrigerator into this pot already, now you just have to give it some flavor. Oh wait, I forgot you need to add some pasta.

Flamestrike SoupSlice a lemon, and squeeze the juice into the pot,

Flamestrike Soupalong with some worcestershire sauce,

Flamestrike Soupsome Italian seasoning,

Flamestrike Soupsalt,

Flamestrike Soupand finally pepper.

photoBring the soup to a boil, then reduce heat, cover, and allow to simmer for 30-40 minutes until all the vegetables are tender.

Flamestrike Soup

Flamestrike Soup adapted from a recipe in Leaves from the Inn of the Last Home

Prep Time: 30 minutes  Cook Time: 30-40 minutes  Servings 12-15

Ingredients

1 lb spicy Italian sausage

1 small onion, chopped

2 cups celery, chopped

4 large carrots, chopped

2 cups of mushrooms, sliced

½ green bell pepper, chopped

5 cups cabbage, chopped (I use coleslaw mix)

5 cups tomato juice

5 cups chicken broth, low sodium

1 cup pasta (macaroni, penne, egg noodles all work great.  I use Barilla Plus)

juice from a large lemon

2 Tbsp worcestershire sauce

2 tsp Italian seasoning

1 tsp salt

black pepper to taste

Preparation

Remove all casing from the sausage and brown in the bottom of a large pot with the onion.  Add  celery, carrots, mushrooms, green peppers, and cabbage.  Allow to cook for a minute or two and mix well.  Add  tomato juice and chicken broth followed by the lemon juice, worcestershire sauce, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper.  Mix well to combine seasoning.  Cover and bring soup to a boil.  Reduce heat and continue to simmer for an additional 30-40 minutes until all vegetables are tender.

About Elizabeth

I am a happily married, mother of two, who left the exciting world of organic synthesis to be home with my children. Cooking and knitting are my two favorite things, and I've recently started running.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Recipes, Soups and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flamestrike Soup

  1. My husband and his friends read many of the the Dragon Lance books when they were younger! I wonder if he’d recognize Flamestrike soup? OoooOOOooh! This recipe sounds gorgeously appropriate for winter, when our feet are more like icicles than they are like feet.

    • Elizabeth says:

      I bet he will recognize the name of the Inn at the very least. I love your choice of words “gorgeously appropriate for winter”.

Leave a Reply

