Variations on a Snickerdoodle: Cocoa and Vanilla Chai

Snickerdoodles just might be my favorite cookie.  The more I make them, the more I love them.  My friend, Mary, over on Books and Bites has an excellent recipe that comes out perfect every time.  You can see my step-by-step adventures in baking them here.

So, you might find yourself wondering why in the world would I mess with a good thing.  Well, it is because I had this packet of Elephant Vanilla Chai tea

that happened to fall out of my cabinet as I was getting the cinnamon out, and I wondered what would happen if I rolled the dough around in that before baking.  Then, simply because I had the word “vanilla” in my head, the next thing that followed was “chocolate”.  I pulled out some cocoa powder, too, while I was at it.

I followed the recipe on Books and Bites linked above, then in addition to the cinnamon sugar mix in one bowl, I used the packet of Elephant Vanilla Chai in a second bowl, and a tablespoon of unsweetened cocoa powder and a tablespoon of sugar in a third bowl.  Then I rolled the dough balls in each of the various coatings.  The results are delicious and definitely worth a try the next time you get an urge to make a snickerdoodle.

Elephant Vanilla Chai Cookie

Vanilla Chai Snickerdoodle

Cocoa Cookies

Cocoa Snickerdoodle

The Original Snickerdoodle

Original, Cinnamon Snickerdoodle

Pile of Cookies

Pile of Cookies

The original, cinnamon snickerdoodle is still my favorite; however, my husband is partial to the vanilla chai.

About Elizabeth

I am a happily married, mother of two, who left the exciting world of organic synthesis to be home with my children. Cooking and knitting are my two favorite things, and I've recently started running.
This entry was posted in Cookies, Cooking, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Variations on a Snickerdoodle: Cocoa and Vanilla Chai

  1. Babygirl says:

    These look delicious

Leave a Reply

