Quickie Socks

For almost a year I have owned The Joy of Sox by Linda Kopp, and last week I finally decided to go through it and find a pattern that would work with some yarn I already had in the house.  Finally on page 59 I found a pattern for “Quickie Socks” that called for a worsted weight wool, and size 5 double point needles:  all things I had right at home.  The pattern is an interesting reversed rib, that is fun to work, and goes by quickly.  The pair was completed in less than a week.  According to the size chart in the book, the 9½ inch sock would fit a medium-sized woman’s foot shoe size 6 to 9.  When off the foot, it looked awkward, and I was having a hard time believing it would fit such a wide range.

Quickie Socks 2After trying the sock on my 6½ foot, a friend’s 7½ foot, and my mother-in-law’s 8½ foot I was finally convinced this sock was the correct size.  Once it is on a foot, all awkwardness disappears, and it is quite magnificent.

Quickie SocksI used naturallycaron.com Country yarn in taupe. This yarn is 75% microdenier acrylic and 25% merino wool, and is machine washable.

About Elizabeth

I am a happily married, mother of two, who left the exciting world of organic synthesis to be home with my children. Cooking and knitting are my two favorite things, and I've recently started running.
This entry was posted in Knits, Socks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quickie Socks

  1. Karen says:

    What an interesting pattern!

Leave a Reply

