Imitation Pulled Pork Sandwiches

Growing up my mom made BBQ pork in the crock pot all the time.  I mean all the time.  It was one of our favorite dishes.  Now that I’m all grown up with two little ones keeping me busy, I completely understand why we ate this all the time.  It is easy, easy, easy, and oh so delicious.  All that is needed is a pork loin, a big bottle of your favorite bbq sauce, and a crock pot.  While I was at the store getting the pork loin, I noticed an applewood smoked turkey tenderloin by Jennie-O, and decided to try that instead of pork.  The result was delicious, and a bit more healthy.  Unfortunately, I did not get any pictures of this meal, so I’ll just give you the recipe.

Imitation Pulled Pork Sandwiches

Prep Time: 10 minutes  Cook Time: 8 hours on low, 4 hours on high  Serves: 8

Ingredients

1 applewood smoked turkey tenderloin, I used Jenni-O

1 bottle of your favorite bbq sauce, I used KC Masterpiece Original (18 oz)

8 sandwich buns

1 package of coleslaw mix, with dressing

Preparation

Place the turkey tenderloin in the crock pot, with all of the bbq sauce.  Cook on low for 8 hours (4 hours on high).  5 minutes before you are ready to serve dinner, mix the coleslaw and dressing.  Use a couple of forks to pull apart the turkey tenderloin, and mix with all the bbq sauce.  Make sandwiches, and serve with coleslaw for an easy, delicious meal.  Enjoy!

About Elizabeth

I am a happily married, mother of two, who left the exciting world of organic synthesis to be home with my children. Cooking and knitting are my two favorite things, and I've recently started running.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Favorite Recipes, Party Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

