Crazy Color Hand Knit Knee High Socks: A Work in Progress

Crazy Color Knee Socks: Heel Flap 2

This yarn was sitting in the $1.00 bin at the local craft store.  There was no plan or need for it, but it was just too dang cute to leave sitting in the dollar bin.  So, I brought it home with me, and it has since been sitting in my stash for about a year.  The label is long gone, probably a casualty of shopping with small children, and I have no idea what it is made of, or by whom.  A few days ago, my daughter saw it just sitting in the drawer and decided it would be perfect for a pair of crazy girl socks.  I couldn’t have agreed more.  So, I pulled out my US size 3 bamboo double points and got to work.  The pattern is based on a complimentary crew sock pattern from www.unicornbooks.com that I have scaled down.

Crazy Color Knee Socks: Heel Flap 2

The stitch used for the heel flap is:

row 1:  *sl 1, k1 repeat from * to the end of the row

row 2: p all sts

This stitch is rapidly becoming one of my favorites.  It is very strong, and perfect for the heel of a sock.  I keep thinking it would make a great blanket, too, if only I had the patience to knit a blanket.

Crazy Color Knee Socks: Turned Heel 2

Crazy Color Knee Socks: Turned Heel 2

Turning the heel of a sock used to be a mystery.  No matter how many times I read a pattern, or watched a video I simply could not wrap my brain around it.  I avoided knitting socks for a good two years because of this fear.  Well okay, the tiny needles and thin yarn also had a bit to do with the avoidance.  After working a very well written pattern for crew socks from Unicorn Books the turning of a heel is a mystery no more.  Now, every time I successfully turn the heel of a sock, I feel a bit of excitement and victory.

Once the socks are complete, I’ll post the pattern I used to make them.

About Elizabeth

I am a happily married, mother of two, who left the exciting world of organic synthesis to be home with my children. Cooking and knitting are my two favorite things, and I've recently started running.
This entry was posted in Knits, Socks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

