A Long Run

Today I ran six miles.  Six.  I am still in disbelief.  I expected it would be harder.  I was tired by the time I finished, oh so tired, but still I expected it to be more difficult.  The little aches and pains that used to bug me so are just disappearing.  I anticipated more joint discomfort, especially after the barefoot run down the beach, but all I had were sore calves that stopped complaining after the first mile or two.  The bad ballerina knee no longer bothers me, ever.  This is amazing.  I ran at a slower pace, stopped for water,  waited for traffic, and before I knew it I had gone farther down the Tobacco Trail than I had ever been.  I was elated as I crossed Martin Luther King Jr.  Parkway and jogged past the Lowe’s.  I couldn’t stop thinking I actually made it across MLK. Then I couldn’t stop smiling.  It didn’t matter that I was so tired by the time I got to the 5.5 mile mark because I just couldn’t help smiling at all the other people I passed on the trail.  They must have thought I was nuts.  I wonder when one becomes a “runner”.  I still do not think of myself as a runner, but today I I started thinking I might be becoming one.  I ran six miles today, and I liked it.

About Elizabeth

I am a happily married, mother of two, who left the exciting world of organic synthesis to be home with my children. Cooking and knitting are my two favorite things, and I've recently started running.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

