First Beach Run: Myrtle Beach, SC

This morning I woke up before the sun and went for my first beach run. Those if you who know me well may pick your jaw up off the floor. If you need a moment, I understand, but yes I was awake before sunrise. The sound of the ocean just filled me with an urgent desire to get out of bed and run. So, I did. I wasn’t sure what it would be like running on sand, and what kind of foot wear was appropriate. The thought of sand in my running shoes was not appealing. I also really wanted to get my feet wet, so I decided to go barefoot. Is this crazy? Most likely Around the half mile mark, I started to regret my decision, until I reminded myself that I always hate the first mile. I kept going, and was quickly distracted by the ocean, and the sunrise. By the time I thought about my foot ware decision again, it was 3.5 miles later and I was back to the hotel. As of now I still feel great. Wonder how I’ll feel tomorrow. As for running in the beach, I’m in love.

For you runners: what do you wear on your feet when you run on the beach?

About Elizabeth

I am a happily married, mother of two, who left the exciting world of organic synthesis to be home with my children. Cooking and knitting are my two favorite things, and I've recently started running.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

