Sweet Potato and Brown Rice Curry

I love curried sweet potatoes.  It is ridiculous, actually,  how much I enjoy eating sweet potatoes prepared this way.  I could eat them every day, and get massive cravings on a regular basis.  However, it recently occurred to me that I may be the only on in my family who feels this way.  So, yesterday when the latest attack came upon me, I decided to not subject my family to my craving, and prepared this amazing dish from items that were already in my fridge.  It was quick, delicious, healthy, and dare I say, vegan. 

Curried Sweet Potatoes and Brown Rice
1 medium sweet potato, skinned and chopped
1/2 medium sweet onion, chopped
1 Tbs. olive oil
1 tsp curry paste (I use Patak’s Mild Curry Paste)
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup sweet peas
1/4 cup green lentils, cooked and drained
1/4 cup black beans, cooked and drained
1 1/2 cups cooked brown rice
salt and pepper to taste
In a medium skillet heat olive oil and add the onion.  Let the onions cook for 2 minutes, stirring frequently until they begin to soften.  Add the sweet potatoes to the skillet and brown.  Mix in the curry paste and allow to cook for 1 to 2 minutes.  Add water to the skillet, mix, put on a lid,  and allow the potatoes to simmer for about 5 minutes or until soft.  Remove lid, and mix in the remaining ingredients.  Cook over medium heat until all ingredients are warm

.

About Elizabeth

I am a happily married, mother of two, who left the exciting world of organic synthesis to be home with my children. Cooking and knitting are my two favorite things, and I've recently started running.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

