Butternut Squash with Apples and Walnuts

This is the best thing that has come out of my kitchen in a while. It is delicious. I’ll be up front and honest with you, cutting up a butternut squash is no easy task, but it is worth it.

To start, cut the ends off the squash like this

Next, scoop out the seeds

and remove the skin.

Then wipe the sweat from your brow, get some water, take a deep breath, and cut the squash into slices like this

Count all your fingers. Congratulations if you still have them all! I am convinced every time I slice up one of these squashes I am going to lose a finger. If you have done it before, you know what I am talking about. If you haven’t you just probably think I am crazy. That is okay, I probably am. Better yet, if you can find a bag of pre-cut squash, go that route. I think I have seen it at Trader Joe’s before.

Put all the cubed squash into a bowl

with some chunked apples and walnuts (I’m assuming you know how to peel and chop an apple). I used one large Honeycrisp apple. It was divine.

Now you are going to want to melt 3 to 4 tablespoons of butter, or if you are like me and realize you have no butter or are vegan, Earth Balance in the microwave just until it melts. Pour it all over the squash, apples, and nuts in the bowl along with some brown sugar, and dump it on a large baking sheet.

Sprinkle it with some cinnamon and bake this wonderful mixture in the oven at 350 degrees for about an hour until it becomes soft. Tonight it took an hour and 10 minutes in my oven. I have no idea why.

Serve it over some long grain brown rice, and enjoy.

Prep Time:  30 minutes Cook Time:  60 minutes Servings: 6

Ingredients

1 large butternut squash

1 large Honeycrisp apple

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1/4 cup brown sugar

3-4 Tbs butter, or butter substitute like Earth Balance, melted

sprinkle of cinnamon

1 cup long grain brown rice

Preparation

1. Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees. Clean, seed, and chop the squash and apple up into cubes.

2. Mix the squash, apples, walnuts, sugar, and butter together in a large bowl.

3. Pour it on a large baking sheet, sprinkle with cinnamon, and bake for 60-70 minutes.

4. While the squash cooks, make some brown rice.


About Elizabeth

I am a happily married, mother of two, who left the exciting world of organic synthesis to be home with my children. Cooking and knitting are my two favorite things, and I've recently started running.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Favorite Recipes, Recipes, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Butternut Squash with Apples and Walnuts

  1. Whitney says:

    YUMMMMMMMMMMY

  2. We’re going to try this tonight!

  3. Pingback: Meal Planning Monday: Week of 12.12.11 —

Leave a Reply

